Breaking It Down: The Next Step

It’s been a little while since my last progress report. Despite having a couple of weekends out of town, a crazy work schedule and an unhealthy dose of free iPad games, I have actually been doing a bit of exercise. It’s certainly helped me handle the stress of work and prevent further hair loss (though, to be clear, I have no medical expertise to back that up).

So what goals were left on the list last time…?

  • Go to the gym 10 times, for at least 30min a session, and
  • Walk home from work (5.8km) 10 times
    • Yes! To both of these goals. I’ve lost count of the number of times I’ve missioned home on the cold, miserable nights that come with the movement into winter – but I love them! It’s that time in the evening when I can withdraw into my mind and just think about whatever and get the endorphins at the end. Win/win!

      The gym is good too, though I tend to only go to do weights. Or cardio when it’s raining.

      A couple of nights I’ve done about an hour of both. I like those nights, but finding time for both is rare.

  • Workout with the rowing machine for more than 5 minutes (and be able to walk in a straight line afterwards).
    • Nope, still working on that one. I don’t tend to do a lot of cardio at the gym at the moment, but I am getting better!
  • Set up a personal training session, and
  • Try a group fitness class at the gym.
    • Unfortunately, I have reasons for not getting these sorted but I don’t like excuses so I’ll have to book them in this coming week
  • Get a drink bottle that does not leak.
    • Yes, sorted. But it’s already looking a little worse for wear…

    So, progress! Better a little than nothing at all, right?

    I’m really enjoying the stuff I’m doing at the moment, but I’m quite keen to start incorporating other things into the routine I’m trying to build. You know, find new and exciting stuff before I get bored and decide I’m no longer interested.

    So I propose the following three goals in addition to the remaining goals above and the 10k walk coming up towards the end of June:

  • Investigate ‘crossfit’. What is it? Is it something I would enjoy? Where is available in Wellington?
  • Start the Couch to 5k programme.
  • Find one childhood game/activity that I can incorporate into my (growing) fitness routine.
  • What do you think? Any suggestions? What goals worked well for you?

    One thought on “Breaking It Down: The Next Step

    1. I don’t know if it would be considered a childhood game, however bicycling around town is something that I’ve always wanted to do, just haven’t done it yet. I guess I consider it childhood since the last time I bicycled I was maybe around 10 years old! I think your goals are healthy ones šŸ™‚

    Leave a Reply

    