Clickity-Clack

If you were to ask anyone who had known me for a long time whether I was a girly girl they would probably laugh in your face. Sure, I like to get dressed up, rock the makeup and look like I made some effort with my appearance. But I’m not about the perfect eyebrows, regular visits to the hairdressers or (if I’m being entirely honest) shaving my legs.

I wear tights to work to cover my tan-less (and apparently hairy) legs. I pluck my eyebrows when they’re bushy enough that even I can’t tell if I’m wearing eyeshadow. I brush my hair to cover the bald spots. I bite my nails.

So it was particularly uncharacteristic when, during the weekend, I thought “stuff it!” and indulged in some pampering. Gel extensions. French tips. Strangers were touching me. Judging me. Im serious – there was ‘tisk-tisk‘ing in the beginning (my nails really were that bad!).
20120723-214121.jpg
But the whole experience was great! I felt very girly. And I love my new nails.

They’re very shiny.
They make typing quite difficult – especially on a touch screen.
I’m particularly partial to the click-clack noise they make against hard surfaces. You know, keyboards, desks, teeth.

When I look down at my hands I can’t help but feel like a million bucks.

What have you done lately, however big or small, to treat yourself?
What makes you feel like you’ve done something special, solely for your benefit?

One thought on “Clickity-Clack

Leave a Reply

