Amy Meets America: The Las Vegas Antics

20121226-144730.jpg
I’ve arrived!

The first stop on my trip around the United States was Las Vegas, so I spent Christmas Eve and Christmas Day under the bright, fluorescent lights of The Strip.

For those observant folk playing along at home, you may have already noticed that Las Vegas wasn’t on my itinerary. Because it wasn’t. It was a last minute change that meant less time in San Francisco, but I’m glad I did it.

If I had to describe Las Vegas in three words, I’d choose: excess, consumption, indulgence.

Of course, there may well be stories behind those descriptors but I’m not going to share them. What happens in Vegas stays in Vegas, right? Besides, what if my mother reads this?! (Hi mum!)

Happy to share the rest of it though –

THE GAMBLING

I didn’t gamble a lot, but I did lose everything I put down. This is why I do not gamble.
That being said, I love watching others and learning how it all works. It was fun.

THE SHOWS

I saw a show each night and loved each one.

1. Blue Man Group
Three grown men, painted blue, running around on stage with various props. Though largely a percussion show, it had a little bit of everything and kept me laughing the whole time. I’ve never heard so many synonyms for one’s (mum, cover your eyes) butt, or seen so many balls on one stage.

If you get a chance, I highly recommend checking it out! Unless you’re epileptic. Then you may want to give it a miss (or, you know, and the flashy lights of Vegas full stop).

2. Cirque du Soleil ‘Mystere’
No trip to Las Vegas is complete without seeing a Cirque du Soleil show, right?
I had fantastic seats, right at the front with performers coming up to us, putting their brightly-painted faces in ours. Thinking about it now, that sounds a little creepy – but it wasn’t at the time. It was great!

A couple of years back I was lucky enough to catch ‘Drallion’ in New Zealand when it was touring. At the time, I remember thinking that the things the performers were able to do was unnatural and that they must all be on a crazy cocktail of drugs and steroids. This time, though, I found that I appreciated everything so much more. Watching the performers’ muscles working as they flipped themselves around, climbed and spun around poles, and flung themselves from one ledge to another, I wanted to learn how to do that myself – I distinct change in mindset. Turns out I’ve come a long way in understanding the human body.

I definitely want to see the other Cirque du Soleil shows, too. Maybe that’s a good reason to head back?

THE FOOD

Everyone talks about the obesity epidemic in the States, but for the life of me I can’t understand why. I mean, for my Christmas dinner I rocked up to Gilley’s at Treasure Island (classy right?) and for $17 got a country fried steak smothered in some funky cream-based gravy, a bowl of fries, a bowl of vegetables (which were swimming in oil, um, what?) and cornbread. That’s just the main of course.

There was also dessert – peach cobbler with vanilla ice cream.

We don’t get food like that at home.

Of course, I didn’t eat it all. And I can still feel everything sitting solidly in my stomach 18 hours on. I haven’t been able to eat breakfast. Or lunch.

I’m all for new experiences, but I won’t be doing that again.

THE DRINK

Evening call. 25oz cocktail slushies in a giant to-keep plastic cup.

Cheap. With even cheaper refills at any of the Evening Call bars along The Strip.

Need I say more?

One thought on “Amy Meets America: The Las Vegas Antics

Leave a Reply

