Amy’s New Ride

20130306-213609.jpg
Ladies and Gentlemen, I bought a bike. Actually, I bought it in the weekend – but it arrived today.

Arriving home after dinner I found a pleasant surprise blocking my front door… A giant box! It’s not necessarily true what they say… The best things don’t always come in small packages.
20130306-213452.jpg
The box told me that assembly would be easy – so I sat and chilled with a tasty, tasty cider before opening the box and getting started. (Side note: have you tried this stuff? It’s fantastic!)
20130306-213804.jpg
Once I opened the box and tried putting everything together, it became abundantly clear that I had no idea what I was doing.
20130306-214353.jpg
Throughout my career people have constantly told me that accounting is a great path to start on because it helps build skills that are easily transferable to a lot of other professions. Well, I’m not quitting my day job any time soon.

Nonetheless, the parts are all attached now and resembling something of a bike. It’s very… Tall.
20130306-215800.jpg
Since I built it, and don’t yet own a helmet that fits, it’s going to hang out unused in my living room for a bit. That is unless you want to come and test it out for me? You know, to make sure the brakes work.

New Zealand’s legal system doesn’t let you sue me for personal injury, so I’m totally keen to cool with letting you take that risk all important first ride for me! (Except for the fact that I like you and would really rather you didn’t get hurt…)

And – that’s right – getting this bike was one of my thirteen new experiences for 2013. Boom! Another one to cross off the list!

11 thoughts on “Amy’s New Ride

      • Not tooooooo far, though I’m not sure how long a flight takes. We’re about 3-4hrs east of Australia if that helps.

        When (not if) you come, make sure you add Queenstown to your list. I’ve never been, but it’s no1 for adventure sports ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • Cool. I’m going to look it up. Out of curiosity, where would you saw there’s a lot of diversity in New Zealand?

      • Diversity in what?
        Ethnicities/cultures – the main cities: Auckland, Wellington, previously Christchurch.
        Landscape – South Island has a bit of almost everything (head up north for the volcanoes)
        Outdoor Activities – places like Queenstown (south) or taupo and Rotorua (north)

  1. Great job at self assembly. If in doubt take the bike to your local bike shop and ask them to give it the once over. Some places even do sessions on how you should maintain your bike. Well worth it.
    I have two words for you ‘rear mudgard’. If you go anywhere and it is either wet or muddy you will end up with an attractive stripe up your bum.
    Other than that simply add helmet and a basic repair kit and your good to go (in daylight anyway). Enjoy the view

Leave a Reply

