Just Peachy!

Ladies and gentlemen, this is a monumental occasion – for two reasons:

  1. because I have this week’s meals more or less under control for the first time in, well, ever. And…
  2. because this is the first time I’ve ever eaten a real peach.  You know, straight from the fruit bowl.  Not from the syrupy goodness of a can.

ID-10082169

Hey guys, did you know that peaches are fuzzy?  Okay, I kid – I have seen a peach before.  I know what they look like.  Jamie Oliver would be proud-ish satisfied.

Growing up, we stuck with the basics – apples, bananas, oranges.  They were cheap and always available.
Peaches were always saved for fancy desserts Mum made when we had guests.  And they came out of a can.

Now that I’m earning my own money and not trying to feed a family of four on a limited budget, I splurged a little.  (Seriously guys, these things are at least $6/kg, compared to apples at $2-3/kg).

Long story short:  Me like.
And it’s nothing like the mushy slices from a can at all!

You can expect to see a few more outbursts like this one as I work through the master shopping list our boot camp trainer has given us.  There’s plenty on there that I love – but there’s plenty on there that I’ve never tried, either.  Like guava, seitan, hemp seeds and quinoa (my parents were relatively straight-forward “meat and three vege” meal kind of people).

So, watch this space!

6 thoughts on “Just Peachy!

  1. My parents were very much the same, those kind of meals make me not want to have dinner, they just feel, bland. But i’ve become a seriously picky eater now because that is all i ever had! I wish i could go shopping, pick lots of new foods and be amazed by the flavours, but i havent had any luck so far and im too scared to try some. I want to like peaches too!!

Leave a Reply

