You Can Do It, I Can Do It

20130719-213814.jpg

Back in high school, and the early years of university, I was dating a guy who – while I think about him rarely – noticeably influenced who I am today.

Why am I bringing this up now, years after the fact? Because there’s one thing he said to me that still stings. Not because of how he said it, or the hurt I felt at the time, but because of the truth behind the words.

He had turned to me, after a couple of years dating, and told me he’d hoped I had chosen to study in the UK like I’d been thinking about, because I never finish anything I start.

Of course, it stung that he had hoped I would move to (literally) the other side of the world. It stung so bad I didn’t hear what he was really saying. (Also. I stayed with this guy after that… What the?)

But – years on – that comment stays with me as perhaps the most solid piece of feedback I have ever received. I am not naturally inclined to finish what I’ve started. I have to work really hard to make sure I see something to the end. Something I still find really hard.

So I invite you – enthusiastic, caring and vocal followers to hold me accountable.

I have goals.
I have set the expectations.
I will finish this. I will reach my goals.

5 thoughts on “You Can Do It, I Can Do It

  1. Yes you will reach your goals! That guy sounds like such a jerk, but I can relate to staying with someone like that too (no, not my husband!). Don’t stop posting and keep doing what you’re doing.

  2. follow-through is one of the hardest things for many people, which is why i have so much respect for it. im not always the best either (as i still struggle with this whole weight loss bit) but i will get better because there comes a point in time when broken promises to oneself are too much to bear. you seem like someone who really wants to get things done so the follow-through will happen for you. 🙂 the past doesn’t have to be a dictator of the future.

Leave a Reply

