Liar, Liar, Pants On Fire

20130730-190919.jpg

Whoever put this picture together clearly has a very different workout experience to mine, because I call bullsh*t.

Personally, I feel prettiest when I’m clean, warm, and wrapped up in someone hunky.

Being all sweaty makes me feel like a bad-ass. One pumped mo-fo ready to take on the world.

If you see a sweaty Amy, she is likely high (on endorphins). I recommend running away – after waving from a distance – lest you be sucked in for a sweaty hug to share in the euphoria. Scrap that, you could probably just walk – she won’t be able to chase you with her post-workout jelly legs.

Since when is working out about being feminine – or as the above picture puts it – pretty? For me, it’s about that feeling of empowerment that comes from knowing that you’re making yourself a better person.
Person.

I am female. At times I feel feminine. But when I’m sweaty, exhausted, and high on endorphins I feel like a person to be reckoned with. Woman, yes. Human being working toward prime conditioning, yes. Feminine, not so much.

That being said, it’s a feeling quite unlike anything else – and my 5:50am alarm for the gym is me putting my ‘money where my mouth is’ (so to speak).

4 thoughts on “Liar, Liar, Pants On Fire

  1. Love this! I agree. I am many things while I am working out – sweaty, beet red, panting… but pretty? No. Not even close. And I don’t want to be. I want to be strong, fit and feel great.

    • i totally agree! that’s like when i was playing soccer back in the day and girls would put on their make up and do their hair real pretty… um why? it’s going to running down your face and your hair won’t remotely resemble that nice look by the end… well it won’t if you actually play hard like you’re supposed to. feeling feminine while working out is certainly possibly but pretty? yeah i dunno about that… plus if you’re “pretty” are you really working out? i dunno.

Leave a Reply

