Back in the Swing of Things

It’s been a busy couple of weeks – but things are settling back into a routine now.  Everything feels a tad more under control.

IMG_3040

I made it to the gym for the first time in too long this morning.  It was a quiet, empty gym – and I probably went a little too hard.  Turns out fitness fades far quicker than I’d expected.

My knee gave me a bit of grief – something that used to happen a lot in high school – so I’ll monitor it over the next little bit and make sure that I haven’t done anything too bad.

Any ideas about what I should be doing to take it easy on my knee in the meantime?  Apart from the likes of swimming, because the world’s not ready to see that just yet!

On a happier note, with work quieting down slightly over the next couple of weeks I’m going to have more time to experiment with recipes and prepping some healthy, homemade meals.  I’m looking forward to it, because all the packaged food I’ve been eating lately has me feeling particularly blergh.

There are a few recipes I’ve found in various corners of the internet over the last couple of weeks that I’m keen to try, but I’m always keen to find more… do you have any good recipes that you’d like to share?  Have you posted directions for a few healthy, homemade meals on your own blog/website recently?  Link me in the comments!

Nom Nom!

Here’s to regular posting!

11 thoughts on “Back in the Swing of Things

  1. For a sore knee, which I have been plagued with my entire life, stay away from lunges and watch out for squats. ALWAYS engage your core–it not only protects your back–it gives you stability as you go down, so you don’t hurt your knee. Also, getting below parallel in a squat engages the muscles in your thighs, butt and lower back and doesn’t strain your knee the way going down and not getting below parallel does. So go deep 😉
    Also I have recently made 2 amazing recipes!! Tomato beef stew: http://xinesweightlossproject.wordpress.com/2013/08/18/tomato-and-beef-stew/
    and shrimp stuffed mushrooms:http://xinesweightlossproject.wordpress.com/2013/08/17/shrimp-stuffed-mushrooms-yum/ They are both paleo and ridiculously tasty!!!

Leave a Reply

