Kicking It Off On a Tuesday

Today I committed to a more dedicated lifestyle. From Tuesday 3 September, I’m committing to a Paleolithic (‘Paleo’) diet for at least a month.

Now, some of you will read that and groan. Some may charge at me with a high five so fierce that I will question what I’ve gotten myself into. Others will just ask, “huh?”

20130902-213701.jpg
What is Paleo?

Wikipedia (the source of all knowledge) explains it as “…popularly referred to as the caveman diet… [It is] centered on commonly available modern foods, the contemporary “Paleolithic diet” consists mainly of fish, grass-fed pasture raised meats, eggs, vegetables, fruit, fungi, roots, and nuts, and excludes grains, legumes, dairy products, potatoes, refined salt, refined sugar, and processed oils.

In a nutshell: it’s eating what our hunter-gatherer ancestors ate.

Because those hunter-gatherers – as a whole – were much finer specimens of human health than we are today. Agriculture changed more for the human race than just the ability to breed exponentially. It turned our diets upside down and we’re (apparently) all sicker for it.

I’m not going to get into the reasons behind my decision today – it’s a whole post of its own – but I am excited, and I am ready. Tonight I purchased my first fully Paleo-friendly grocery run, filled with all the tasty goodies:20130902-215313.jpg
(Excuse the toilet paper – it’s not pessimism on my behalf… It was just on sale)

I cooked up a Paleo dinner tonight, and it was mighty tasty. Meat and veg. Both simple and mouth watering. I can see this working.

I’m pumped.
Now just to talk myself into eating a meaty, eggy breakfast…

7 thoughts on “Kicking It Off On a Tuesday

  1. Woot! Good luck on paleo! I’ve heard good things about it but still feel like I don’t know much of anything. This isn’t helpful and it’s not meant to be offensive, but maybe just funny and entertaining: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=piqfzzsnICs
    There are 5 mini episodes where they review it. It’s not really a serious show which is why it’s more entertaining than anything. Those girls are a couple of whiners on everything they review. You should see the review on the Hula Chair. Hilarious!

Leave a Reply

