Paleo: One Week On

20130909-220225.jpgRight oh – today marks day seven of my Paleo commitment. How has it gone so far?

For the most part, it’s been easier than I expected. I thought it was going to be a complete shake up of everything I ate beforehand. But the reality is, I only truly feel like I’m missing out on two things;

  • Chocolate, and
  • Coke Zero.

There are worse things to go without. But I’m still quite proud of myself for going a full week without Coke in any shape or form when I was guzzling it by the can. At least 2 a day, every day.

So, yes, there’s a definite sense of accomplishment at this point.

How does the rest of it stack up? As I keep evaluating over the next three weeks, I’ll take the approach of jotting down my general experience/thoughts/anecdotes under these three headings; food & nutrition, social, & broader health.

Food & Nutrition

  • I have eaten a lot of meat. A lot. I hate the smell of raw red meat,but am making progress. Turns out quality meat doesn’t make me want to hurl as soon as the wrapper’s opened. (Win!)
  • So much fibre!
  • When I’m full, I feel full but don’t feel bloat and disgusting. It helps that these foods aren’t ‘moreish‘ like the likes of chips, or fried food.
  • Last night I would’ve stabbed someone for a kitkat. Now I just really, really want one…but I probably wouldn’t commit a crime.

Social

  • Friends have been super supportive, and really interested to know how it’s going.
  • We went out to our friends’ place for a birthday BBQ and it was surprisingly easy to stick within the boundaries. It helped that they’re meat-loving people who bent over backwards to ensure we were looked after.
  • Workmates have openly mocked my ham in a mug for breakfast. My response; how is it different from bacon? I’m still not sure what was up with the mug, though. I’ll give them that.
  • Didn’t go drinking on Friday. Mostly because I knew all I’d order was a water. Also because by he time Friday rolled around I was so sick of people asking questions about my diet (said as a dirty word… You know what I’m talking about)
  • My routine feels like it’s been taken to by a chainsaw in the rectum. I like having a routine, and changes throw me off a bit. There’s been a lot of cooking. I am also sick of the supermarket. I’ve been to 5 different supermarkets in the past 3 days.

Broader Health

  • Having a project makes mental health easier to manage, so while this is still novel I can see it having a positive effect.
  • Too early to see any real benefit flowing through to my hair. But ever optimistic!
  • I do feel more awake in the mornings, and tend to sleep through the night better (having a project and managing my anxiety helps with this, too)

Overall, it has been a pretty good week. I’ve learned a bit more about nutrition, and how my body feels when I eat certain foods. But, try as I might, I don’t understand why people think it’s okay to ask about my poop. I just don’t. Has anyone else had to deal with these kinds of questions? These weren’t even over the Internet! Yuck!

6 thoughts on “Paleo: One Week On

  1. Hiya, I’ve not long switched from veggie to paleo and have found it easier than I thought, mainly because I bought a slow cooker, it seemed easier than trying to figure out how I was going to cook meat well and not waste tons of money ruining it! Plus, when you slow cook it, the flavour becomes FLAVOUR!! Last night I put 800g beef topside roasting joint rubbed with my favourite spices (turmeric, cinnamon, cayenne pepper, cumin) on top of onion, garlic and chilli, splashed some balsamic vinegar over it and drizzled a little raw unpasteurised honey on top of the joint, chucked in a few cardamon pods and left the pot to slowly cook for 8 hours while I slept! It was absolutely tastelicious!! Anyway, good luck with it all 🙂

  2. OMG people ask about your poop? That’s pretty funny. And awkward.

    I like meat but probably not enough for paleo… Sounds difficult to eat all that meat but at the same time it would be super filling.

  3. Pingback: Chocolate… Is It Paleo? | peonut

Leave a Reply

