Something Crazy, Something I’ve Never Done Before

Yesterday I gave you the opportunity to guess my new fitness goal.  I said it was a hard one (it really, really will be), but not impossible.

A few of you guessed.  Some were close.  But Jay from over at On a Jam Hunt hit the nail on the head!

JayI’m going to run the half marathon at next year’s Round the Bays.  23 February 2013, just under 16 weeks from now.

All 21 glorious kilometres!
Talk about fecking crazy. 

Can I do it? 
Will I do it?

They’re two very different questions, both of which I answer with “Yes… but I’ll have to work my arse off”.

But nothing worth having is easy, right?

I’m working to cover the distance.  Not get an awesome time.  Not to win (like that will ever happen).  But to finish it, and know I can do it.

I’m doing it for me.  And that makes reaching the goal – keeping the motivation high – that much easier.

Here’s to an interesting few months!

22 thoughts on “Something Crazy, Something I’ve Never Done Before

  1. Oh I was so close! 😀 I am also aiming to run 10km and then maybe a half marathon as well next year – so it looks like we will both be training 😀

  2. It will be interesting to read about your progress. My husband has just run his first full marathon and I’ve done several power walking marathons myself so I know what a tough commitment the training can be and how difficult it can be to find the motivation at times. Good luck 🙂

  3. Good luck with the preparations for your half marathon! It’s a great feeling knowing you can run for that long.. And if I can do it, so can you!

    And in Wellington, even.. Wow 🙂 Great city, lovely country. Hope to be back there someday..

  4. Pingback: Blisters on Blisters | peonut

  5. Pingback: I Have a Confession to Make | peonut

Leave a Reply

