Big Fat Lies

Are you looking for a book that will change the way you look at food forever?  This book is what did that for me.

After reading all about the paleo diet – and why it’s meant to work – I tried it, and it didn’t work for me.  Reading this book explained why.  It’s not about grains and dairy.  It’s about sugar and ‘food’ that’s created in a lab.

Sure, a paleo diet eliminates the manufactured for the natural… but that’s only half the equation.  Plus, you’re ditching heaps of the good stuff which, for much of the population, is fine.  Cheese anyone?

David Gillespie is a lawyer – not a scientist – so the book is written by a (well-researched) layperson for laypeople.  It’s easy to understand, and written in digestible (logical) chunks.  For the stats nerds, there are a few graphs in there, too… you know, for good measure.

This is the book I read over my New Years break.  And – despite rarely finishing a book I read for personal interest – I plan to read it again soon.  But it will have to wait until after I read his others.  You might recognise one of them… Sweet Poison.

Do you have a book – or particular author – that’s completely changed the way you see your health and nutrition?

10 thoughts on “Big Fat Lies

  1. It took me a long time to realise diets don’t work. I probably wouldn’t have weighed as much in the first place if I hadn’t tried so many stupid fad diets. Losing weight is not about ‘going on a diet’ it’s about changing your lifestyle, eating good fresh food in sensible portions, listening to your body, especially when it says ‘I’m full,’ and moving about more. Thing is, no one is going to make any money out of that!

  2. even though it’s a bit dry, nancy clark’s sports nutrition guidebook! it was recommended to me by a nutritionist i was working with when i decided to start running seriously. it’s super-informative and really helped me start thinking about food as fuel to get me through the day rather than as an enemy destined to make me gain weight. this was also right at the beginning of my recovery and it ended up being a really important tool. : )

  3. Love, love, love your review! Quitting sugar 19 months ago meant I can eat what I want, when I want, and continue to feel amazing 🙂

  4. For me it was the Intuitive Eating book. I know I’ve been talking about it a ton on my blog, but it really helped change my perspective on dieting and how diets almost always end in failure and how unhealthy they can be. In the end it seems easier to listen to my body.

  5. Can I suggest that you do some follow up reading re the “so the book is written by a (well-researched) layperson” comment. Like most lawyers David only talks about the research (or parts of it) that support his case – far from well researched!
    David actuallu gets a lot of the research wrong – davidgillespiesbigfatlies.com

Leave a Reply

