Is the IQS Programme Paleo?

In a nutshell; no.  Quitting sugar on the IQS plan is not a paleo diet.

20130902-213701.jpg

If I compare my paleo experience with the one I’m currently working through – they’re completely different.  Well and truly different.

When I stuck to a paleo diet, I ate a lot of fruit.  It made up probably a third of my daily food intake.  Possibly even more.  That’s a crazy amount of sugar.  So much sugar.  Without it, I probably would’ve strangled somebody.  Paleo – for my lifestyle – felt so restrictive.  There were huge blocks of food-groups that I couldn’t have in my house.

Quitting sugar doesn’t cut giant chunks of the food pyramid (which, granted, is still completely wrong).  I’m just cutting out fructose.  A type of sugar.  I can have similar meals to what I had before, just by being really  conscious of the ingredients and ‘tweaking’ them if I have to.  It’s a bit of work, sure, once you’ve got your head around it it’s easy.

IQS means no fructose.

Paleo means no dairy, processed foods, legumes, grains, starchy food, and alcohol.

Either way may work best for different people – there probably isn’t one right way to eat for everyone.  Especially if we’ve all been abusing our bodies for years… that’s got to mess with your body chemistry to a certain extent, right?  Both ‘diets’ (for a lack of a better term) seek to address this abuse, but there are massive assumptions from both plans that we’ve all done the same kind of damage.

Which one’s better?  

For me, quitting sugar is showing more immediate results but it’s still early days.
Am I willing to make a blanket statement which I expect to apply to everybody?  Heck no.  That is a massive trap.

Find which works for you.  And who knows, you might just go paleo and cut out fructose, too.  If it works… I admire your self-discipline.  Seriously.

6 thoughts on “Is the IQS Programme Paleo?

  1. Yes, I am a big believer that there is no “one way”. Everyone’s body is different. Different people have intolerances, health issues, illnesses, that may affect the way their body processes foods. You are very right in saying find the way that works for you. People need to be more intune with their bodies and learn to respond to signals about what is good and bad. Hrmm did that even make sense?! haha. So sleepy! It’s been a long week.

  2. Good Post!
    I have been transitioning to Paleo for the last week and a half with great results. However just like you said, it’s not for everybody, I am fortunate to have the time to spend on researching to heck and back the best way to get some balance in my diet.
    Status for me so far – zero cravings from day 1, down 2kg, feeling more alert during the day, not tired upon waking, has had same positive impacts on my children.
    I am a sugar junkie from way back, so making this change took epic amounts of planning. I think my household is happier now than we have been for a long time!
    Keep up your choice work, you’ve got it going on! 🙂

Leave a Reply

