IQS: Week Four – How It Went

This week I definitely got back on track. I feel it in my body. I feel it in my attitude. I can see it on the scales.

Last week I was up a little – and I knew why. My challenge this week was to get back on track.

Cut down the sugar. Focus on what I’m eating. Be conscious of what I’m shovelling into my mouth (then stop shovelling).

This morning’s weigh in has me at 72.5kg. That’s over a kilo down on last week, and over 3kg down since I started. I’m really happy with that.

Slow and steady wins the race.

From next week I am really going to be upping the exercise so I expect my weight loss to slow a bit. Going to build some sweet muscle, guys!

Keeping up the optimism and positivity when the numbers start to slow will be just as important a “keeping to the plan”.

Anyone have any pointers on how to keep motivation levels high longer term?

8 thoughts on “IQS: Week Four – How It Went

  1. Great job! We weigh about the same and I’m trying to get down to a healthier weight too. I recommend having a dinner party with friends who are also trying to eat healthy. It’s a great way to allow food to sneak into your social circle without it sabotaging your results. The key is the friends have to be on the same page. It is a fun challenge to cook healthy meals. Also, meal prep will keep you on track.

    I’m in no place to give advice about that though.. I have been at this weight for a year.. Well, that’s not true. I was 10 pounds heavier at my peak! My advice – just keep moving forward!!! And keep blogging about it!

  2. Awesome loss! And “Trikatykid” is totally right, you are a pretty choice chick, so you must have some pretty choice friends, but it helps to surround yourself with people who are also wanting to be successful at this game!
    I have a little network that I converse with on FB (NZMFP Buddies) from all around New Zealand, I have actually met a bunch of them a couple of times in person, we support each other through our successes and failures and we keep getting back on that wagon no matter how many times we fall off.
    We all met up to complete the Ekiden Relay in Rotorua, and we are making it an annual thing to complete our sames legs of the race to better our last years times. Its all about being better than who you were before.
    They are the most down to earth people I have ever met, most runners are (except for the snooty ‘ I think I am better/faster/stronger than you’ types).
    Entering the same event every year helps if you are into events.
    Set yourself longer term goals… perhaps plan out your year with a different challenge every month, get others to do it along with you virtually maybe?
    Hope you find something that interests you and helps you to stick 🙂

    • Thanks 🙂

      These are all fantastic ideas – especially having a group like yours to keep everyone motivated (and accountable). Keeping this blog (and reading others’) serves a similar purpose… just on a much broader, global scale.

      I like the idea of having a new challenge every month – it’s enough to keep motivated, and have everyone join along…

  3. It isn’t always easy to keep motivated but I think, if you find something you love doing, it can be done. Walking is my thing and I’ve just joined a Facebook group for a virtual walk from Lands End to John O’Groats, it adds a little incentive to put in the miles.

Leave a Reply

